Breidis, who was fighting in front of his home support, landed an elbow to the head of Glowacki as he exited from a clinch.
Referee Robert Byrd seemed to miss the illegal shot, and the Polish fighter was knocked down a further two times, the second of which came after the bell.
Bredis finished the fight in the third round with a powerful right hand.
1/3 – CONTROVERSY! Mairis Briedis stops Krzysztof Glowacki in the 3rd round.
The fight was full of controversy starting with this elbow in the 2nd round… pic.twitter.com/hZTDiEJsJf
— Sky Sports Boxing (@SkySportsBoxing) June 15, 2019
Breidis said that his illegal shot was retaliation for a strike Glowacki landed to the back of his head.
“I think the referee didn’t do nothing, then I did a little bit of a dirty punch but I’m sorry for how I responded, it’s my old Muay Thai style,” he said.
Hugely controversial fight in Riga as Briedis KOs Glowacki in the third round – this after he had elbowed him in the face after a behind the head punch and then landed a severe knockdown long after the bell had sounded. Wow! #BriedisGlowacki@WBSuperSeries pic.twitter.com/UrI1gTwwt6
— Boxing-UK 🥊🇬🇧 (@Boxing_UK_) June 15, 2019
I am not an expert but this moment is really strange. You can see it here from different angle. Also reaction from Glowacki team. #briedisglowacki #alitrophy #mairisbriedis #wbsuperseries @WBSuperSeries pic.twitter.com/0NGoBaOqwr
— Paulius Jakelis (@PauliusJakelis) June 16, 2019
Boxing is always a bit sketchy when it comes to officiating.
It’s a fight, that’s going to happen.
Want More From Sports Gossip?