The Cowboys lined up to attempt a potential 47-yard game-tying kick with three seconds remaining in the game, but long snapper L.P. LaDouceur was flagged for a false start.
The 5-yard penalty made it a 52-yard attempt, resulting in kicker Brett Maher hitting the left upright as time expired.
After the game, LaDouceur was left in complete and utter shock.
The veteran long snapper said he attempted to position the ball, which was on the ground, to his comfort level before snapping. LaDouceur added his understanding of the rule is he is allowed to adjust the ball as long as it isn’t picked up off the ground.
Al Riveron, the league’s senior vice of president of officiating, backed up the call, categorizing LaDouceur’s actions as “illegal ball movement” on Twitter with a video replay.
— NFL Officiating (@NFLOfficiating) October 21, 2018
Ultimately, the penalty resulted in a longer field goal attempt which the Cowboys missed.
Maher refused to place the blame on his miss on the infraction, pointing out he pulled it and the elements of the outdoor stadium might have contributed.
The loss dropped the Cowboys to a 3-4 record and a tie with the Philadelphia Eagles for second place in the NFC East. The Cowboys feel cursed at times, or like someone is out to get them.