Skip Schumaker of the Miami Marlins was named National League Manager of the Year on Tuesday, winning the award in his first year on the job.

Schumaker beat out Craig Counsell, who managed last season with the Milwaukee Brewers before departing for the Chicago Cubs, and third-place finisher Brian Snitker of the Atlanta Braves.

Skip Schumaker 8 8 8 72
Craig Counsell 5 7 5 51
Brian Snitker 8 2 2 48
Torey Lovullo 4 5 7 42
Dave Roberts 4 5 6 41
David Bell 1 2 2 13
David Ross   1   3

The 43-year-old is the third Marlins manager to receive the honor and the eighth skipper to win Manager of the Year in his first season on the job, according to MLB Stats.


Schumaker was humble in accepting his honor, calling the win “a staff award.”

Schumaker led the Marlins to an 84-win campaign during the regular season and their first playoff appearance in a non-shortened campaign since 2003.

Got a story or tip for us? Email Sports Gossip editors at 

Want More From Sports Gossip? 

For all the latest breaking Sports Gossip, be sure to follow on FacebookInstagram, and Twitter.