Brazil struggled to break down a resilient Costa Rica side in their second match of Group E today, with some flopping by Neymar the main talking point of the match.
In the 78th minute a brilliant Brazil attack was ended when Neymar got the ball in the box, turned inside and tried to make an absolute meal out of a stray hand from Costa Rica defender Oscar Duarte.
Referee Bjorn Kiupers initially seemed to signal for a spot kick, then went to replay and upon reflection, reversed the call. Watch below:
VAR says no! Neymar's penalty is overturned! pic.twitter.com/rri8CNCtvY
— FOX Soccer (@FOXSoccer) June 22, 2018
Flopping in soccer is all part of the game, sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn’t. Sorry Neymar, you got caught this time.