NFL team owners formally approved a plan Tuesday to expand the postseason to 14 teams, beginning with the 2020 season.

During a conference call to discuss league business after the annual meetings were canceled due to the coronavirus pandemic, the owners also awarded one of those extra games to CBS and one to NBC.

RELATED: Cardinals LB Chandler Jones Spending Quarantine Watching Pandemic Movies

Three-fourths of the 32 owners needed to approve the change.

The new format changes prior league practice in two ways

Flip the Page to Read the Report: