Was there ever any doubt?

Two-way superstar Shohei Ohtani cruised to his second AL MVP award Thursday, becoming the first player ever to win two MVP awards unanimously. Ohtani, who also received every first-place vote in 2021, swept Texas Rangers shortstop Corey Seager and second baseman Marcus Semien to claim this year’s honor.

Here’s how the top five voting by members of the Baseball Writers’ Association of America shook down:

Shohei Ohtani 30         420
Corey Seager   24 6     264
Marcus Semien   5 8 11 3 216
Julio Rodríguez (SEA)     8 10 6 197
Kyle Tucker (HOU)   1 4 5 9 178

Ohtani enjoyed another transcendent year for the Los Angeles Angels as both a designated hitter and starting pitcher in 2023. The 29-year-old hit 44 home runs with 95 RBIs and a career-high 1.066 OPS as a hitter. He led the AL in homers, OBP, slugging, OPS, OPS+, and total bases despite missing most of September because of an elbow injury.

On the mound, he posted a 3.14 ERA and 1.06 WHIP with 167 strikeouts across 23 starts. He also threw his first MLB complete game and shutout, and held opponents to a .184 average.

This is the seventh AL MVP won by an Angels player. Five of those have been claimed by Ohtani and his superstar teammate Mike Trout over the last decade.

Ohtani is the 12th unanimous AL MVP winner. He’s the 16th multi-time winner in the Junior Circuit, and 29th in both leagues. The last two-time AL MVP was Miguel Cabrera, who won back-to-back honors in 2012 and ’13.

Ohtani also becomes the third pitcher to win multiple MVP awards, joining Hall of Famers Hal Newhouser (1944 and ’45) and Carl Hubbell (1933 and ’36). A fourth Hall of Fame hurler, Walter Johnson, won two MVPs before the modern version of the award began in 1931. The Japanese superstar remains the only primary DH to win an MVP since the position was created in 1973.

Tampa Bay Rays first baseman Yandy Díaz, Kansas City Royals shortstop Bobby Witt Jr., Baltimore Orioles infielder Gunnar Henderson, O’s catcher Adley Rutschman, and Cleveland Guardians third baseman José Ramírez rounded out the top 10 of voting.

This marks the first time in the modern MVP award’s history that the winners in both leagues were unanimous. Atlanta Braves outfielder Ronald Acuña Jr. swept the NL MVP vote.

Got a story or tip for us? Email Sports Gossip editors at tips@sportsgossip.com 

Want More From Sports Gossip? 

For all the latest breaking Sports Gossip, be sure to follow SportsGossip.com on FacebookInstagram, and Twitter.