Defensive end Julius Peppers, tight end Antonio Gates, and wide receiver Andre Johnson are among the 15 modern-era finalists to make the 2024 Pro Football Hall of Fame class.

This year’s nominees started in a pool of 173 players in September. That list was trimmed to 25 semifinalists in November.

Eric Allen CB 1988-2001 Eagles, Saints, Raiders
Jared Allen DE 2004-15 Chiefs, Vikings, Bears, Panthers
Willie Anderson OT 1996-2008 Bengals, Ravens
Jahri Evans OG 2006-17 Saints, Packers
Dwight Freeney DE 2002-17 Colts, Chargers, Cardinals, Lions, Seahawks
Antonio Gates TE 2003-18 Chargers
Rodney Harrison S 1994-2008 Chargers, Patriots
Devin Hester PR/KR/WR 2006-16 Bears, Falcons, Ravens, Seahawks
Torry Holt WR 1999-2009 Rams, Jaguars
Andre Johnson WR 2003-16 Texans, Colts, Titans
Julius Peppers DE 2002-18 Panthers, Bears, Packers
Fred Taylor RB 1998-2010 Jaguars, Patriots
Reggie Wayne WR 2001-14 Colts
Patrick Willis LB 2007-14 49ers
Darren Woodson S 1992-2003 Cowboys

Peppers ranks fifth all time with 159.5 sacks during his career with the Carolina Panthers, Chicago Bears, and Green Bay Packers. His 52 forced fumbles rank second in NFL history, trailing Robert Mathis’ 54. Peppers was named to both the Hall of Fame’s All-2000s and All-2010s teams in addition to being a three-time first-team All-Pro and nine-time Pro Bowler.


Gates, who spent his entire 16-year career with the Chargers, hauled in 955 receptions for 11,841 yards and 116 touchdowns. Those marks rank third, third, and first, respectively, in league history among tight ends. The undrafted Kent State product earned eight Pro Bowl selections and three first-team All-Pro nods. He made the All-2000s team.

Johnson, a seven-time Pro Bowler and two-time first-team All-Pro member, was a mismatch for defensive backs for over a decade with the Houston Texans. The Miami product owns franchise records for receptions, yards, and touchdowns. Johnson finished his career with 14,185 yards and 70 touchdowns on 1,062 receptions.

Senior finalists Randy Gradishar, Steve McMichael, and Art Powell will also be eligible for induction alongside the player finalists and contributor/coach finalist Buddy Parker.

The 2024 Pro Football Hall of Fame class will be announced Feb. 8.