The Tampa Bay Rays are the seventh team in MLB history to start a season with a perfect record through 10 games and the first to do it since the 1987 Milwaukee Brewers managed to go 13-0.

The Rays completed the historic feat Monday, beating the division-rival Boston Red Sox 1-0.

Teams to open a year 10-0 or better:

1982 Braves 13-0
1987 Brewers 13-0
1981 Athletics 11-0
1955 Dodgers* 10-0
1962 Pirates 10-0
1966 Cleveland 10-0
2023 Rays 10-0

* 1955 Brooklyn Dodgers are the only team on the list that went on to win the World Series

It was a tightly contested tilt Monday, with Brandon Lowe eventually breaking the scoreless tie with a solo homer in the eighth inning.

It’s the first time this season the Rays didn’t win by at least four runs, previously dominating the Detroit Tigers, Washington Nationals, and Oakland Athletics. Pete Fairbanks recorded the team’s first save of the year, striking out one in a perfect ninth.

Tampa Bay also owns an MLB-best plus-58 run differential. The Brewers are second at plus-25.

The victory is also the team’s third consecutive shutout in as many days after back-to-back 11-0 routs of the A’s.

Colin Poche earned the win in relief on a bullpen day for the Rays. The left-hander allowed one hit and two walks in a scoreless eighth, striking out one.

Chris Martin was hit with the loss, surrendering the eighth-inning homer to Lowe.

Got a story or tip for us? Email Sports Gossip editors at 

Want More From Sports Gossip? 

For all the latest breaking Sports Gossip, be sure to follow on FacebookInstagram, and Twitter.