Dwyane Wade, Dirk Nowitzki, Pau Gasol, Tony Parker, Gregg Popovich, and Becky Hammon are among the finalists who’ve been elected in this year’s Naismith Basketball Hall of Fame class, sources told ESPN’s Adrian Wojnarowski.

A formal announcement is expected this weekend at the Final Four in Houston.

Wade spent the majority of his 16-year career with the Miami Heat, playing a prominent role in each of their three NBA championships. He earned 13 All-Star selections, eight All-NBA nods, and one scoring title. The Marquette product is Miami’s all-time leader in multiple categories, including points, assists, and steals.

Nowitzki is regarded as one of the most influential international players. The 7-foot German was a stretch-four long before they became the norm and sits sixth on the Association’s all-time scoring list. He was the first European player to win the NBA’s MVP award and was named Finals MVP after leading the Dallas Mavericks to their first and only title in 2011.

Gasol starred alongside Kobe Bryant on the Los Angeles Lakers for parts of seven seasons. The Spanish big man won two titles with the Lakers, who recently retired his number. He also won the Rookie of the Year award with the Memphis Grizzlies, three Olympic medals, and a World Cup.

Parker spent all but one of his 18 NBA seasons with the San Antonio Spurs. The legendary floor general was a part of four title runs and became the first European-born player to win Finals MVP. With 1,143 playoff assists, he ranks fifth on the league’s all-time leaderboard.

Popovich has been at the helm of the Spurs for the past 27 seasons. The 74-year-old captured five NBA rings and was named Coach of the Year thrice. He’s the league’s all-time leader in regular-season wins and trails only Phil Jackson and Pat Riley in playoff victories.

Hammon was named to the WNBA’s 25th Anniversary Team in 2021. She had a decorated 15-year playing career, earning six All-Star selections, four All-WNBA nods, and one assists crown. Her success has carried over into her coaching career with the Las Vegas Aces – in 2022, Hammon became the first rookie bench boss to win a WNBA title.

Got a story or tip for us? Email Sports Gossip editors at tips@sportsgossip.com 

Want More From Sports Gossip? 

For all the latest breaking Sports Gossip, be sure to follow SportsGossip.com on FacebookInstagram, and Twitter.