After James Harden got away with an obvious travel in the final minute of Monday night’s Rockets-Jazz game, everyone was going crazy with Harden’s “double stepback” that essentially sealed the win for Houston.
Harden commented on it:
James Harden On Uncalled Travel: Won't Tell On Myself' https://t.co/iP8z72QYnF
— SportsGossip.com (@sportsgossip) December 18, 2018
Andre Iguodala weighed in, letting the refs know they missed the call late Monday night following the Warriors 110-93 win over the Grizzlies.
— andre (@andre) December 18, 2018
The refs responded to Andre’s message:
The offensive player gathers the ball while on his right foot. He then takes a step with his left foot (step 1) into a hop step, landing first with his right foot (step 2) and then illegally with his left (step 3). We missed this one – it is a traveling violation. https://t.co/BqMAoZHgIu
— NBA Referees (@OfficialNBARefs) December 18, 2018
A double stepback is impossible to guard.
Iguodala knew better than to think that was a legal play, and the refs agreed with him.
After the fact.