New York Mets manager Carlos Mendoza disagreed with the umpiring crew’s decision to uphold a game-ending double play in Wednesday’s loss to the Chicago Cubs.

Mets first baseman Pete Alonso was thrown out trying to score the tying run on a sacrifice fly attempt in the bottom of the ninth inning. The umpires upheld the out call on the field and also determined that Cubs catcher Miguel Amaya didn’t block Alonso’s path to the plate.

“I think they got the wrong call,” Mendoza said postgame, according to The Athletic’s Tim Britton. “At the end of the day, it cost us a game.”


“After viewing all relevant angles, the replay official definitively determined that no violation at home plate occurred,” the MLB replay center said in a statement obtained by Meghan Montemurro of the Chicago Tribune. “(The) catcher’s initial setup was legal, and he moved into the lane in reaction to the trajectory of the incoming throw.”

Alonso believed he was safe and hoped for a different outcome during the review process.

“It’s really simple. I thought I was safe,” Alonso said, per Newsday’s Tim Healey. “They’re going through it, they made call, and it’s like, shucks. Darn it.”

The Mets will look to earn a split of the four-game series with the Cubs on Thursday afternoon.