The NFL is one of the most popular and lucrative sports leagues in the world. It consists of 32 teams that compete each season for the coveted Super Bowl title. Football players are some of the largest, fastest and most powerful athletes on earth, which makes for some pretty exciting action on the gridiron. Find out more about these larger than life heroes and NFL Picks, who steal our hearts every Sunday all year long!

Introduction to the NFL

Since its inception in 1920, the National Football League has been one of America’s most popular sports leagues. Each year, the league’s top performers are recognized with the Most Valuable Player award.

Over the nearly 100 years of its existence, the NFL MVP award has been won by some of the greatest players to ever play the game. From early stars like Red Grange and Bronko Nagurski to modern legends like Tom Brady and Aaron Rodgers, the list of NFL MVPs is filled with Hall of Famers and all-time greats.

In this article, we’ll take a look at every player who has ever won the NFL MVP award. We’ll start with a brief history of the award and then dive into each individual winner. So sit back, relax, and enjoy a walk through NFL history!

First Playoff Game (1939)

In 1939, the NFL held its first playoff game ever. The game was between the Green Bay Packers and the New York Giants. The Packers won, 14-10.

The game was not televised, but it was live streamed on for fans to watch. It was a close game, with the score being tied at 10-10 in the fourth quarter. The Packers scored a touchdown with just over two minutes left in the game to take the lead.

The Giants had one last chance to score, but they were unable to do so and the Packers won the game. This was the first time in NFL history that a playoff game had been played.

1935 – The Beginning of the Modern Era

The National Football League (NFL) was founded in 1920, but it wasn’t until 1935 that the first official NFL MVP was named. That year, the award went to Chicago Bears halfback Bronko Nagurski. Nagurski was a dominant player on both offence and defence, and he helped lead the Bears to an NFL Championship that season.

Over the next few decades, the NFL MVP award would go to some of the league’s biggest stars. In 1940, it was Green Bay Packers quarterback Cecil Isbell. Isbell set an NFL record that season with 2,403 passing yards. He would later be inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

Other notable MVPs from this era include Detroit Lions running back Doak Walker (1949), Los Angeles Rams quarterback Bob Waterfield (1952), Baltimore Colts quarterback Johnny Unitas (1959), and Green Bay Packers running back Paul Hornung (1961). These players were all legends of the game, and they helped make the NFL what it is today.

Stats, Records, and Attendances from 1935-1977

When it comes to the NFL, there are few things more important than the MVP award. This prestigious honour is given to the player who is considered to be the most valuable to his team during the regular season. Since its inception in 1935, there have been many great players who have won the MVP award, and their accomplishments are truly impressive.

In terms of stats and records, some of the most notable MVPs include Peyton Manning, who holds the record for most career passing yards and touchdowns; Jerry Rice, who holds the record for most career receiving yards and touchdowns; and Emmitt Smith, who holds the record for most career rushing yards and touchdowns.

In terms of attendance, some of the most popular MVPs include Michael Vick, who drew massive crowds to Atlanta Falcons games during his time with the team; Brett Favre, who was hugely popular during his time with the Green Bay Packers; and Terry Bradshaw, who was a fan favourite during his time with the Pittsburgh Steelers.

Regardless of their individual accomplishments, all of these players are considered to be among the best of the best in NFL history. They represent everything that is great about this sport, and their impact on the game will be felt for many years to come.

1978 – The Year of the Super Bowl

1978 was the year of the Super Bowl. The Pittsburgh Steelers won Super Bowl XIII, defeating the Dallas Cowboys 35-31. This was the first Super Bowl appearance for both teams, and it was a rematch of sorts from their regular season meeting, which saw the Steelers win 28-17.

Super Bowl XIII is widely considered one of the best Super Bowls ever played. It featured two great defences, two dynamic offences, and a thrilling finish. The Cowboys jumped out to an early 14-3 lead, but the Steelers rallied to take a 21-17 lead at halftime. The Cowboys then took a 24-21 lead in the third quarter, but the Steelers scored 14 unanswered points to take a 35-24 lead in the fourth quarter.

The Cowboys then made a late comeback, scoring seven points to make it 35-31 with just over two minutes left in the game. However, they were unable to recover an onside kick, and the Steelers held on for the win. Terry Bradshaw was named MVP of the game after throwing for 318 yards and four touchdowns.

Top Quarterbacks of All Time

The National Football League has been around for nearly a century, and in that time, there have been some truly great quarterbacks. Here are the best of the best:

  1. Tom Brady

Tom Brady is widely considered to be the greatest quarterback of all time. He has played in ten Super Bowls, winning seven of them. He has also been named the NFL MVP five times.

  1. Peyton Manning

 Peyton Manning is another one of the greatest quarterbacks of all time. He won two Super Bowls and was named the NFL MVP five times.

  1. Drew Brees

Drew Brees is another great quarterback who has won a Super Bowl and was named the NFL MVP once.


The National Football League has been around for over a century, and in that time, there have been some truly great players. But who is the best of the best? Who are the players that have been named MVP of the NFL?

In this article, we take a look at every single player who has ever won the MVP award in the NFL. From Jim Thorpe to Peyton Manning, these are the men who have left their mark on the sport and gone down in history as some of its greatest ever players.